“The Swifty” Award, In Memory of Seth H. Swift

The Tree Warden of the Year Award recognizes a tree warden who exhibits leadership, dedication, and a commitment to the profession. The annual award is named in honor of longtime member and past president Seth “Swifty” Swift, who passed away January 1, 2004. The association invites nominations from Massachusetts residents as well as from city and town officials. Nominations are due by December 1st for the January annual award presentation. Now—at any time of year—you can nominate online.  Read on to see the award criteria:

  • Holds position of Tree Warden or Deputy Tree Warden in a municipality.
  • Actively participates in the National Arbor Day Foundation’s program, Tree City USA
  • Demonstrates active leadership and dedication to the protection of urban trees
  • Educates the community in which they work about the importance of healthy urban trees
  • Holds an annual Arbor Day celebration
  • Shows commitment to the profession by volunteering with a tree-related organization

The award is given at the Association’s annual conference in January. The MTWFA holds an Arbor Day event in the town or city where the individual works and publicizes the award in that recipient’s area.


Year Recipient Affiliation Press
2023 Jeremiah Pearson Town of Falmouth press release
2022 Alex Sherman City of Springfield press release
2021 Dennis Fazio Town of Wakefield press release
2020 Christopher Scott City of Chicopee press release
2019 Richard Parasiliti City of Northampton press release
2018 David Lefcourt City of Cambridge press release
2017 Christopher Hayward Town of Watertown
2016 Andrew DeSantis City of Chelsea
2015 Aggie Tuden City of Medford
2014 John Lavin Town of North Andover press release
2013 Alan Snow Town of Amherst press release
2012 Peter Bacon Town of Dalton press release
2011 William Hayes Town of Plympton
2010 Peter Buttkus Duxbury
2009 Daniel Connolly Orleans press release
2008 Arthur ‘Jese’ Jeselonis Medford press release
2007 Peter Flynn Concord press release
2006 Edward Budnik Spencer
2005 Edward Casey Springfield press release
2004 Richard Hunter South Hadley
2003 Seth H. Swift West Springfield
2002 Ronald Despres Wellesley